To market, to market…. Saturdays in Madras

I absolutely LOVE farmer’s markets; each one is a patchwork quilt of booths vying for my attention. Like a butterfly searching for flowers, I seek markets everywhere I travel & I save my spare pennies to support the ones near home. Arriving as early as possible, coffee mug & treasure seeker’s bag in tow, I set out to explore the wonders at hand….

So, when I found out that Madras’s weekly market is held just 3 blocks from my house, I was ecstatic! Saturday mornings from 9am to 2 pm, Sahalee Park in downtown Madras is the place to be. All summer long.

The Madras Saturday Market has a  variety of vendors, selling everything from handcrafted jewelry to homemade jam. There is an info booth, and often a community fundraiser. Some weeks prepared food is available for purchase, and there is always live music. Sahalee park is perfect for picnicking, and there’s a playground nearby to keep the kids happy. Vendors vary from week to week, but here is a sampling that you’ll likely find on your next visit:

**********************************************

IMG_20160625_143907The Jam Lady – okay, so that’s not her business name, but that’s how I know her. Each week her booth is my first stop because I need to resupply my home with her wonderful jams and fruit spreads.  She always has baked goods as well, which are great to snack on as you tour the rest of the booths.

IMG_20160625_143812

***********************************************

IMG_20160625_174339Madras Garden Depot – This is my go to shop for plants as well as advice about the do’s & don’ts of gardening in central Oregon (which I need so much of!). Karen is a wealth of knowledge and she keeps an amazing stock of plant varieties that do well in our climate. Each week she comes to market with an array of herbs, veggies, flowering plants, and hanging baskets ready to liven up your yard.

IMG_20160702_161028

***********************************************

IMG_20160625_143549The Garden Romantique – Speaking of things to liven up your yard, check out these glass creations by Anna. Each one-of-a-kind piece is beautiful in the shade, but with a bit of sunshine streaming through them you’ll marvel at the colors.  If you like her work but don’t see just the right piece, ask about custom designs, or keep checking back through the season.
IMG_20160625_143422

***********************************************

IMG_20160625_102821871Penelope’s Soaps & Such – You’ll know you’re close to this booth by the fragrance of essential oils wafting through the air. Handcrafted soaps and lotions are available in dozens of scent combinations.  I can’t help myself when it comes to soaps, they make great gifts, and well, they make my bathroom smell as good as the booth.

***********************************************

IMG_20160702_100834And what would a farmers market be without fresh produce? There are several booths to choose from, each bringing something different to the table.  Fresh herbs, tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, rhubarb, onions, greens, local honey….the list goes on and on. Now if only the cheese lady and I could coordinate our visits to the market……

**********************************************

As I said before, this is just a taster of what the Madras Saturday Market has to offer.  For a full course you’ll have to visit the market yourself.

Every Town has its own unique character, and there is no better way, in my opinion, to discover that character than through its weekly market.  Come out next Saturday and discover the character of Madras with me.

Until market day,
happy shopping!

 

Leave a Reply

